EEU treaty signed by Customs Union member states

EEU treaty signed: Leaders of the Customs Union member states of Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus convened in Astana today to sign the EEU treaty. “Today we are creating together a powerful and attractive centre of economic development, a major regional market which brings together more than 170 million people,” the Russian President Vladimir Putin said, adding that EEU accounted for 20% and 15% of the world’s gas and oil respectively. ITAR-TASS